Call for candidates for the operation of transition houses

​The federal public service of justice has launched a call for candidates for the operation of transition houses. The first step in the necessary and total reform of our detention system becomes concrete.


Legislative change voted for placement in transition houses

On 28 June 2018 the ‘amendments to the law of 17 May 2006 on the external legal position of the condemned to deprivation of liberty and the rights granted to the victim in the window of the criminal execution’ including the insertion of a chapter II bis Placement in the transition House has been voted in the Chamber. These amendments shall enter into force on 8 July 2018.


Architect students at the UHasselt again create a series of scale models for possible detention houses.

Architect students at the UHasselt again create a series of scale models for possible detention houses.


The Houses is heard in the Justice Commission of the Belgian House of Representatives

The 25th of April 2018, The Houses was heard in the Justice Commission of the Belgian House of Representatives, about the law proposition containing various provisions in criminal matters, with the changes in the law on transition houses (p. 75-81).


The Houses receives the prize for most deserving criminological project of the Association of Graduated Leuven Criminologists

The Association of Graduated Leuven Criminologists (VLAC) honored us with the price for most deserving criminological project!

“What is special about this project is the interdisciplinary nature. Of course the achievement of this ambitious project requires time, commitment, perseverance and a broad social basis. Time, commitment and perseverance has vzw the houses. In addition, the concept of detention houses also on international interest. With this prize, we hope to do a small contribution to the further development of the social support that is necessary for the success of this project.”


Detention houses in ‘Punishment. A penological perspective’

Detention houses are named in ‘Punishment. A penological perspective’ by Kristel Beyens and Sonja Snacken (2017, Maklu), thé criminological reference work for the next decade, more specifically in the chapter about the ‘Belgian policy regarding the prison sentence and its alternatives’.


The houses as a model voor innovation in rehabilitation at the 2017 ICPA conference in London.

We presented The Houses as a model for innovation in rehabilitation at the ICPA (International Corrections and Prisons Association) conference in London in October 2017, under the title ‘Building better futures in better buildings’.


Masterplan Minister of Justice Koen Geens

On May 13, 2016 the Minister of Justice Koen Geens oresents his plan on prisons and internment, in a joint press release with the Minister of Social Affairs and public health Maggie De Block and Deputy Prime Minister of Security and Internal Affairs Jan Jambon.

A differentiated detention policy, with transition houses, is one of the four pillars of this Master plan: “There will be transition houses with a total of 100 places: these are small scale projects in which certain detainees (selected on the basis of a number of criteria) by the end of their sentence get the opportunity to spend the last part of the sentence in a transition house. There they are intensely assisted and guided to return to and better function in society.”


Discussion in the Justice Commission of the House of Representatives 8 juli 2015

The 8th of July 2015 there is a discussion about detention houses in the Justice Commission of the House of Representatives.


Label Flemish Architect

The Houses receives the label 004 of the Flemish Architect.

With the BWMSTR Label, the Flemish government Architect wants to pick up innovative and policy-relevant ideas from the research and design practice, and support unsolicited research in the early stages. The winners are given a modest budget to create a file for their project to find its way among policy-makers and administrations.

“Can scaling down new prisons and forensic psychiatric institutions lead to lower recidivism rates and generate profit as a society? The non-profit The Houses aspires a pilot project with spatial design research testing. The pilot project can give an idea of how and in what manner this vision on detention can translate within the structure of an urbanized landscape and the associated public policy. Simultaneously with this pilot project a network is developed that transcends the current, for detention dysfunctional breakdown ‘live - work - care - justice’ within government and administration.”


Standaard Solidarity Award

In 2013 The Houses was the laureate of the Standard Solidarity Award.

The ad calls for small-scale detention houses. Young people can come back to life there, work on the restoration of their errors, and take responsibility. The ad was created by communications agency What’s in a name? by Bruno Seys and Filip Vandewiele and appeared three times for free in the newspaper De Standaard.

‘Naughty boys matter’ appeared with 23 other full-page ads by non-profit organizations in De Standaard, after a preselection from over 100 entries. A jury of leading creative directors – Jens Mortier of Mortierbrigade, Odin Saille of Boondoggle and Jan Teulingkx from Saatchi – and representatives of the newspaper itself – Gert Ysebaert, Publisher,Emmanuel Naert, marketing manager, and Karel Verhoeven, editor-in-Chief – brought the selection to a shortlist of three; next to the bars that become a story, also the messages of Memisa and Studio Straid, and Natuurpunt and Duval Guillaume Modem jumped in the eye.


Resolution in the House of Representatives

On 10 October 2012 Sarah Smeyers, president of the Justice Commission, introduced a proposal for resolution ‘to set up a pilot project differentiated sentence implementation’ to be adopted by the House of Representatives. This resolution was signed by Renaat Landuyt, Sophie De Wit and Stefaan Van Hecke.

Appel à candidatures pour l’exploitation de maisons de transition

La service public fédéral Justice a lancé un appel à candidatures pour l’exploitation de maisons de transition. La première étape de la réforme nécessaire et totale de notre système de détention prend corps.​

Le délai pour l’introduction des candidatures est prolongé jusqu’au 31 octobre 2018!




Changement législatif pour le placement dans des maisons de transition est voté

Le 28 juin 2018, les ‘amendements à la loi du 17 mai 2006 sur le statut juridique externe des condamnés à la privation de liberté et les droits accordés à la victime dans la fenêtre de l’ exécution pénale’ y compris l’insertion de un chapitre bis II Placement dans la transition maison sont voté dans la Chambre. Ces modifications entreront en vigueur le 8 juillet 2018.


Des étudiants en architecture à l’UHasselt ont créé encore une série de modèles réduits de maisons de détention possibles.

Des étudiants en architecture à l’UHasselt ont créé encore une série de modèles réduits de maisons de détention possibles.


Les Maisons est entendu par la Commission de la Justice de la Chambre Belge

Le 25 avril 2018, Les Maisons est entendu par la Commission de la Justice de la Chambre Belge, dans le cadre du projet de loi portant des dispositions diverses en matière pénale, avec les modifications législatives des maisons de transition (p. 75-81).


Les Maisons reçoit le prix pour le projet criminologique le plus méritant de L’Association des criminologues de Louvain!

L’Association des criminologues de Louvain nous a fait l’honneur de nous octroyer le prix du projet criminologique le plus méritant!

«Ce qui est spécial au sujet de ce projet est l’interdisciplinarité. Bien sûr, la réalisation de ce projet ambitieux nécessite temps, engagement, persévérance et une large base sociale. Temps, engagement et persévérance, l’asbl Les Maisons en a. En outre, le concept de maisons de détention peut aussi compter sur un intérêt international. Avec ce prix, nous espérons un petit a contribué au développement de l’aide sociale qui est nécessaire pour la réussite de ce projet.»


Les maisons de détention dans ‘Punir. Un point de vue pénologique’

Les maisons de détention sont nommés dans ‘Punir. Un point de vue penologique’ par Kristel Beyens et Sonja Snacken (2017, Maklu), l’ouvrage de référence criminologique de la prochaine décennie, plus précisément dans le chapitre «La politique belge au sujet de la prison et ses alternatives».


Les Maisons comme modèle pour innovation en ré-intégration

Nous avons présenté Les Maisons comme un modèle d’innovation en matière de réhabilitation lors de la conférence de l’ICPA (International Corrections and Prisons Association) à Londres en octobre 2017, intitulée «Construire des meilleurs avenirs dans des meilleurs bâtiments».


Masterplan du Ministre de la justice Koen Geens

Le 13 Mai 2016 le Ministre de la justice Koen Geens fait connaître son Masterplan ‘prisons et internement’, dans un communiqué de presse conjoint avec le Ministre des Affaires sociale et de la Santé publique Maggie De Block et le Vice-Premier et Ministre de la Sécurité et de l’Intérieur Jan Jambon.

Une politique de détention différenciée, via des maisons de transition, est un des quatre piliers du Masterplan: “Des maisons de transition verront le jour, pour un total de 100 places: il s’agit de projets de petite échelle dans lesquels des détenus, sélectionnés sur la base d’une série de critères, se voient offrir la chance, d’ici la fin de leur peine, de passer la dernière partie de la peine dans une maison, où ils bénéficient d’une assistance et d’un accompagnement intenses qui doivent leur permettre de fonctionner à nouveau et mieux dans la société.”


Discussion au sein de la Commission de la Justice de la Chambre du 8 Juillet 2015

Le 8 juillet 2015 il y a eu une discussion sur les maisons de détention au sein de la Commission de la Justice de la Chambre.


Label de l’Architecte Flamande

L’asbl Les Maisons a reçu le label 004 du Maître Architecte Flamand.

Avec le label BWMSTR, le Maître Architecte Flamand cherche à rassembler des idées innovantes et pertinentes sur le plan politique, issues de la recherche et de la pratique de conception, et ainsi soutenir la recherche dans sa phase de démarrage précoce. Les lauréats reçoivent un budget modeste, pour davantage développer leur projet qui peut être utilisé par les décideurs politiques et les administrations.

“Est-ce que le rétrécissement de l’échelle des nouvelles prisons et des établissements de psychiatrie légale peut mener à une moindre récidive et ainsi générer des bénéfices au niveau sociétal? L’asbl Les Maisons aspire à un projet pilote qui examine cela sur base de recherches sur la conception spatiale. Le projet pilote peut donner une idée de comment et de quelle manière cette vision de la détention peut se traduire au sein de la structure d’un paysage urbain et de la politique des pouvoirs publique qui s’y rattache. Simultanément à ce projet pilote se développe un réseau qui transcende le fractionnement dysfonctionnel actuel de ‘la détention - logement - travail - soins - justice’ fait au sein du gouvernement et de l’administration.”


Prix de solidarité

En 2013 l’asbl Les Maisons a été le lauréat du ‘Prix de la solidarité du Standaard’.

L’annonce préconise des maisons de détention à petite échelle. Là, les jeunes peuvent revivre, travailler à la réparation de leurs erreurs et apprendre à assumer des responsabilités. L’annonce a été conçue par l’Agence de communication What’s in a name? de Bruno Seys et Filip Vandewiele et est parue trois fois dans De Standaard.

Cette annonce, intitulée ‘Les vilains garçons comptent aussi’ est parue tout comme 23 autres annonce d’une page entière d’organisations sans but lucratif dans De Standaard, après une présélection parmi plus de 100 candidatures. Un jury composé de grands réalisateurs créatifs – Jens Mortier de Mortierbrigade, Odin Saille de Boondoggle et Jan Teulingkx de Saatchi – et des représentants du journal lui-même – Gert Ysebaert, éditeur, Emmanuel Naert, marketing manager et Karel Verhoeven, rédacteur en chef – a ramené à la sélection à une liste de trois; à côté des barres qui deviennent une histoire, les messages de Memisa et Studio Straid, et Natuurpunt et Duval Guillaume Modem ont également attiré l’attention.


Résolution

Le 10 octobre 2012 Sarah Smeyers, Président de la Commission de la Justice, a soumis une proposition de résolution ‘relative à l’élaboration d’un projet pilote en matière d’exécution différenciée des peines’ à la Chambre des représentants. Cette résolution a été cosignée par Renaat Landuyt, Sophie De Wit et Stefaan Van Hecke.